Janis, Scottsboro and The Normal Heart Take Home L.A. Drama Critics Circle Awards

January 18, 2021

first_img The Fountain Theatre’s The Normal Heart took home the McCulloh Award for Revival. Tim Cummings was also among the winners for his performance as Ned Weeks. The film adaptation of the play, directed by Ryan Murphy, will air on HBO this spring with a cast of stage and screen favorites. Some Broadway favorites are among the winners of the 2013 Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, honoring excellence in theater in L.A. and Orange County. The ceremony, hosted by Nicole Parker, took place on March 17 at the Colony Theatre in Burbank. One Night with Janis Joplin, which will soon reopen off-Broadway, took home awards for music director Ross Seligman, featured actress Sabrina Elayne Carten and Janis herself, Mary Bridget Davies. The tribute to the rock legend played the Pasadena Playhouse last spring prior to moving to Broadway.  For a complete list of winners and honorees, click here.center_img The Scottsboro Boys, which opened last May at the Ahmanson Theatre in downtown L.A., received an award for Production, while legendary creators John Kander and the late Fred Ebb won for the score of Tony Award-nominated musical.  View Commentslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *